2012-2013 English Department

Brett Blair, Dept. Chair Leslie Allenspach Daniel Bannon Christine Calandra Lisa Cuscaden Daniel Fliegel Scott Grobstein Marina Gozzetti Melissa McCann Tara Murphy

Brian Shanahan Michael Sullivan Regina Wathier James White Debra Wilson Kathryn Wilson Terri Woebel Adam Wood

Sarah Pouls

Willowbrook High School Administration

Mr. Daniel Krause Mr. Sam Bentsen Mr. Thomas Cantlin Mrs. Ann Kimpton Principal Assistant Principal Assistant Principal Assistant Principal

District 88 Board of Education

Mrs. Donna Craft Cain Mr. Jay Irvin Mrs. Sharon Kucik Mr. Thomas Edmier Mr. Timothy Gillen Mr. Mark Johnson Mrs. Lisa Lullo

A Special Thank You

Arbor Cafeteria Staff Auditorium Staff & Crew Brett Blair Nelda Byers Candy Richardson English Dept. members who donated to the NEHS Scholarship Fund



NATIONAL ENGLISH HONOR SOCIETY for High Schools

National English

Honor Society



Induction Ceremony Doris White Auditorium March 25, 2014 7:00 p.m.

Willowbrook High School

English Co-Curricular Awards for 2013-2014

NEHS Scholarship

The English Department will be awarding a senior, who is inducted and/or affirmed as a National English Honor Society member of the Willowbrook R.E.A.D.S. Chapter. This scholarship is for a senior who will be entering a two or fouryear college, university, or trade school for the 2013-2014 school year. Each scholarship recipient will receive a check in the amount of \$500 to be used within the freshman year. This scholarship fund is solely based upon donations from members of the Willowbrook English Department.

Scholarship applications may be obtained from the English Department. Applications must be submitted to Mr. Blair in the English office by May 5th. Scholarship winners will be announced at the Senior Awards night at the end of May.

Outstanding English Students of the Quarter

2017 Hannah Neher 2016 Marissa Martinoz 2015 Erin Sulla 2014 TBA in May

Outstanding Senior in English 2013 Debra Ann Skinner 2014 TBA in May

I.E. Speech Team

The team earned 41 individual awards and one team award this season, and the team was awarded the IHSA All-Academic Team for 2013-2014.

Sectionals Qualifiers: Santhanam Kumar Alexander Lapinski Colleen Shelton

Sectionals Finalists: Colleen Shelton

Most Improved Speaker: Galen Bergsten

<u>All-State Theater Festival Production</u> Actor-Jack Corkery

"Lifelong Learning"

Opening Remarks	Mrs. Melissa McCann Shawn Hurdelbrink
English Co-Curricular	
Snapshots	Jenna Leazott Theater/Thespians
	Mark Rodriguez Skyline
	Luciana Sementa Centurion
	Colleen Shelton Speech Team
	Heather Rickord NEHS
Introduction of Keynote Speaker	Mrs. Melissa McCann Mr. Jamas White
Keynote Speaker	Mr. James White
Induction of Students	Mrs. Leslie Allespach Mrs. Melissa McCann
Closing Remarks	Mr. Brett Blair

Keynote Speaker: James White



Jim White has been an English and speech teacher at Willowbrook High School for the past 23 years. He graduated from Willowbrook in 1982 and then went on to receive his bachelors in Speech Communication specializing in Public Relations and a minor in journalism from Southern Illinois. He received his teacher certification from North Central and his Masters degree from Northeastern Illinois University.

Jim currently coaches three sports and sponsors the sophomore class and the Varsity Athletic Club. Jim has also served as the director of the incoming freshman orientation program PROGRESS for over 15 years.

Jim and his wife Laurie have been married for 23 years and have two children. His son Colin graduated from Willowbrook in 2012 and is currently attending Southern Illinois University. His daughter Brianna will be an incoming freshman next year. As a Villa Park resident his entire life, Willowbrook has been like a second family. He can honestly say that because it is a supportive and caring community, many who grew up here have stayed or come back to raise their family.

Jim's favorite quotation:

"Make the most of every opportunity, you never know when it will change your life."

2014 Re-Inductees

Seniors

2014 Arif, Ayesha 2014 Betts, Leo 2014 Brown, Morgan 2014 Burton, Taylor 2014 Campagnolo, Ashley 2014 Chanthavong, Linda 2014 Cheng, Christopher 2014 Dubinas, Rokas 2014 Ebeling, Matthew 2014 Elagha, Yasmeen 2014 Garcia, Kathrene 2014 Garner IV, Edgar 2014 Gavard, Jeremy 2014 Gornick, Emily 2014 Grant, Stefanie 2014 Hill, Sabrina 2014 Horn, Britannia 2014 Hurdelbrink, Shaun 2014 Johnson, Susan 2014 Kosanda, Collin 2014 Krueger, Ellen 2014 Kuenstler, Molly 2014 Kumar, Santhanam 2014 Kwak, Anna 2014 Leazott, Jenna 2014 Lev, Michael 2014 Limas, Jailene 2014 Lowe, Sarah 2014 Lundgren, Logan 2014 Mazzone, Kaleigh 2014 McFarlane, Cassidy 2014 McNamara, Margaret 2014 Mendiola, Joshua 2014 Menzer, William 2014 Monaco, Kevin 2014 Moran, Kelly 2014 Nowak, Tina 2014 Palma, Veronica

2014 Rader, Melissa 2014 Rickord, Heather 2014 Rodriguez, Mark 2014 Rosario, Jennifer 2014 Ross, Gregory 2014 Ryniec, Alexandra 2014 Sementa, Luciana 2014 Shelton, Colleen 2014 Siddiqi, Nuha 2014 Stavkova, Mira 2014 Strum, Shannon 2014 Sunbury, Brian 2014 Unseth, Will 2014 Welch, Amber 2014 Welch, Azia 2014 Wendt, Amanda 2014 White, Alviah 2014 Wiedman, Lukas 2014 Witkowski, Samantha 2014 Young, Brandon 2014 Zaagman, Garrett 2014 Zilius, Eleanor 2014 Ziss, Margaux 2014 Zoha, Wardah

Juniors

2015 Ahmed, Abdulaziz 2015 Aiello, Madison 2015 Ali, Furkhan 2015 Amaya, Morgan 2015 Barrantes-Leonard, Alvssa 2015 Cabudol, Mika 2015 Canete, Ira 2015 Cookingham, Jessica 2015 D'Alessandro. Matthew 2015 Dawson, George 2015 Draus, Joseph

2015 Giammarino, Micala 2015 Green, Adia 2015 Johnson, Seneca 2015 Kalwat, Rachel 2015 Khan, Sofia 2015 King, Brian 2015 Kirchner, Avery 2015 Kraabel, Brian 2015 Marchese, Lena 2015 McGrann, Shawna 2015 Patel, Halev 2015 Pellegrini, Jessica 2015 Railing, Mia 2015 Rodriguez, Gabriella 2015 Rogalski, Michael 2015 Shah, Shukan 2015 Shahzad, Muhammad 2015 Siddigui, Benish 2015 Smith, Laura 2015 Smith, Olivia 2015 Spencer, Michelle 2015 Sulla, Erin 2015 Warren, Michael

Seniors

2014 Altaf, Tuba 2014 Cavazos, Stephanie 2014 Dando, Samuel 2014 Gruskovak, Jacob

Juniors

2015 Abellar, Lianne 2015 Assem, Eunice 2015 Atkins, Liam 2015 Azeem, Tasneem 2015 Beausoleil, Joshua 2015 Bimber, Brooke 2015 Blondin, Matthew 2015 Brown, Margaret 2015 Buhr, Matthew 2015 Ciapponi, Megan 2015 Corkery, John 2015 Crawford, Megan 2015 Denwood, Kayla 2015 Eufrasio, Nicholas 2015 Fatima, Farheen 2015 Gilson, Julia 2015 Grzadziel, Nora 2015 Hameed, Mohammed 2015 Hill, Molly 2015 Jelinek, Michelle 2015 Johansen, Kristian 2015 Johnson, Gloria 2015 Jones, Crystal 2015 Joyce, Cassandra 2015 Kanelos, Andrew 2015 King, Thomas 2015 Lapinski, Alexander 2016 Martinoz, Marisa 2015 Linnig, Kelsev 2015 Lubbering, Ashlev 2015 Mahal, Allison 2015 Martinez, Veronica 2015 Mchabcheb, Sumeya

2014 New Inductees

2015 Metz, Collin 2015 Milcent, Andre 2015 Mubeen, Asra 2015 Pakeltis, Abby 2015 Pavese, Liana 2015 Pawlak, Alexandra 2015 Perry, Lindsey 2015 Planz, Sydney 2015 Ruchala, Courtney 2015 Rusnak, Tyler 2015 Siddiqui, Atif 2015 Slade, Megan 2015 Sosa, Stephany 2015 Stanis, Erin 2015 Zaldivar, Vanessa 2015 Ziegler, Teagan 2015 Zoromski, James Sophomores

2016 Raza, Khateeb 2016 Sarovich, Maximillan 2016 Satsangi, Shilpa 2016 Schulte, Madeline 2016 Sutor, Steven 2016 Wiede, Elisabeth 2016 Wilson, Tera 2016 Zabran, Josie

2016 Barrie, Amanda 2016 Brvan, Vincent 2016 Cheng, Stephaney 2016 Dewyer, Celia 2016 Garbacz, Matthew 2016 Gehrke, Daniel 2016 Gonzalez, Alma 2016 Huette, Christen 2016 Isaacson, Emily 2016 Kania, Daniel 2016 Kiplinger, Kaley 2016 Kolp, McKenzie 2016 Konrath, Kalyn 2016 Majid, Igra 2016 Marczewski, Jordan 2016 Martyniuk, Kyle 2016 Mendiola, Julius 2016 Owen, Erin 2016 Pillar, Mia 2016 Pullia, Morgan 2016 Purcell, Olivia